Australian Professional Standards for Teachers

…is a framework for assessment of teachers arranged in: Domains/Standards/Focus Areas

Within Focus Areas are descriptions of skill and knowledge associated with specific Career Levels: Graduate – Proficient – Highly Accomplished – Lead.

To achieve teacher registration, teachers must provide evidence of ‘proficiency’ in the Standards, as assessed against the Focus Area Career Level statements.

Domain 1- Professional Knowledge

Description: Teachers draw on a body of professional knowledge and research to respond to the needs of their students within their educational contexts.

Teachers know their students well, including their diverse linguistic, cultural and religious backgrounds. They know how the experiences that students bring to their classroom affect their continued learning. They know how to structure their lessons to meet the physical, social and intellectual development and characteristics of their students.

Teachers know the content of their subjects and curriculum. They know and understand the fundamental concepts, structure and enquiry processes relevant to the programs they teach. Teachers understand what constitutes effective, developmentally appropriate strategies in their learning and teaching programs and use this knowledge to make the content meaningful to students.

Through their teaching practice, teachers develop students’ literacy and numeracy within their subject areas. They are also able to use information and communication technology to contextualise and expand their students’ modes and breadth of learning.

Standard 1: Know students and how they learn

Standard 2: Know the content and how to teach it

Domain 2 – Professional Practice

Description: Teachers are able to make learning engaging and valued. They are able to create and maintain safe, inclusive and challenging learning environments and implement fair and equitable behaviour management plans. They use sophisticated communication techniques.

Teachers have a repertoire of effective teaching strategies and use them to implement well-designed teaching programs and lessons. They regularly evaluate all aspects of their teaching practice to ensure they are meeting the learning needs of their students. They interpret and use student assessment data to diagnose barriers to learning and to challenge students to improve their performance.

They operate effectively at all stages of the teaching and learning cycle, including planning for learning and assessment, developing learning programs, teaching, assessing, providing feedback on student learning and reporting to parents/carers.

Standard 3: Plan for and implement effective teaching and learning

Standard 4: Create and maintain supportive and safe learning environments

Standard 5: Assess, provide feedback and report on student learning

Domain 3 – Professional Engagement

Description: Teachers model effective learning. They identify their own learning needs and analyse, evaluate and expand their professional learning, both collegially and individually.

Teachers demonstrate respect and professionalism in all their interactions with students, colleagues, parents/carers and the community. They are sensitive to the needs of parents/carers and can communicate effectively with them about their children’s learning.

Teachers value opportunities to engage with their school communities within and beyond the classroom to enrich the educational context for students. They understand the links between school, home and community in the social and intellectual development of their students.

Standards in this domain

Standard 6: Engage in professional learning

Standard 7: Engage professionally with colleagues, parents/carers and the community

Information on this page has been sourced from the AITSL website.